What would you do with 100 lbs of potatoes?

Potatoes form the basis for many traditional I...
Image via Wikipedia

I love potatoes! No matter how they are prepared, I will eat them. So, when asked on Twitter (@CanarsieBK – urbanorganicgardener.com), “What would you do with 100 lbs of potatoes?”

LOL, I thought I’d share a few of my favourite potato recipes (OVER TIME, but this is my all time fav!)

Keep in mind these ingredients can be modified.

Easy Potato Soup

8 Medium potatoes, peeled and cubed
1 Large onion, diced
1/2 cup mushrooms (fresh – canned will do in a pinch), chopped (I like ‘shrooms, so I add a whole cup)
1 quart milk
1 teaspoon crushed red pepper
1/2 teaspoon of garlic
1 teaspoon parsley
1 teaspoon basil
2 teaspoons butter
Salt and pepper to taste
8 slices of crispy bacon, crumbled into bits (can be either turkey or pork) – this is optional
your favourite shredded cheese.

Place potatoes, onions and mushrooms in a pot and cover with water.

Boil until potatoes are tender. Drain water. Add milk, butter and spices.
Simmer on low for an additional five minutes to blend flavours.

When soup is done, sprinkle with bacon bits and cheese 🙂

Oh, you can also cook in fresh greens, spinach, kale and the like. I suggest staying away from cabbage.

Serves 8

3 thoughts on “What would you do with 100 lbs of potatoes?”

    1. yeaaahhh, oooo, I have a French fry recipe to share. Hummm!

      Thanks for the name. I find her to be not only a very able actor, but also, to say that she is fit….well that would be an understatement! 🙂 F-I-T, fit!

      Thanks for the view!

      peace and long life!

Comments are closed.