Happiness = Security … or does it?

Wow, once more into the fire.

Would you, could you agree that happiness = security? That without “security” we can’t be happy?

Well, my “security” was taken away today.

(The details aren’t important as they would mean nothing to you. Not being mean or secretive, just telling the “truth.”)

Yet, I’ve not noticed a noticeable drop OR rise in my “happiness.” So is that a valid equation? I have no idea if this loss of “assumed security,” if it is a permanent or temporary situation. However, permanent or temporary the situation, ” ‘life’ will go on.”

But, I’m reflecting on conversations and observations and things are making me say hummm…

Now, one voice is calmly whispering in my ear “the universe will take care of her own.”

“your happiness level hasn’t changed because your “true” security hasn’t been taken away.”

Ok, that is one voice. The other is running the gambit. Dealing with an entire range of human emotions…..so many that I can not/am not equipped to handle them.

Anger (I am always angry. My mother says that I was an angry baby. Not a bite you angry, just this disapproving scowl. But this is different. This time I am more angry with myself for the poorly conceived decisions I made and honestly for listening to ANYTHING except my head. )

Fear (as to the next step. Where do I go from here? )

Confusion (oh my, what to do, what to do?)

Faith (I never thought I was a person of faith. I just took it for granted that if I did “a” and “b” , “c- would happen.” but, now there is something…. Can’t put a pin on it, but….)

Blame (I always go there when I do not want to accept my role in whatever less than helpful situation I find myself. But eventually I realise that I must bear the brunt on the responsibility. And the realisation that those who wrong others and gain from that will rarely accept responsibility – so why blame them?)

But of them all I am still “happy.” Well as “happy” as I allow myself. But you know what, my happiness level is the same today as it was yesterday. (well that’s not the truth, I am in a much better mood than yester-morning. But that pissy mood was banished after Thomi and her workout. Perhaps, yesterday was a trial run…instead of RE-acting today, I PRE-acted yesterday.) But all in all, I am no more “happier” than the “norm.”

So what gives? My “assumed security” is gone, yet my “happiness” is the same. How can that be?

Am I “willing” myself happy? Or is this some type of shock?

Oh well, a pui tardi!

I am of peace…most of the time.

2 thoughts on “Happiness = Security … or does it?”

  1. Hi Drew, hope you’re doing okay with everything.

    This is an interesting post. I’m just wondering how you define happiness in your own life? What do you need to be happy? And why don’t you allow yourself to be happy?

    Is “happiness” a sort of measuring stick (i.e. when things are good, you are very happy, when things are bad you are not so happy)? Is happy the “default” setting?

    Personally, having so many different conflicting/negative emotions within a 24 hour time frame would not be happiness for me – although I might generally be happy, and that one day of conflicted emotions was just a “bump in the road”, it would still be a bad day. But I think it depends on how we define happiness.

    I’m just curious. You’re further along the “way” than I am, so I’d like to hear your opinions on this topic. Although perhaps you’re still processing things?

    1. Well look at what I found.

      I’m just wondering how you define happiness in your own life?

      What do you need to be happy?

      And why don’t you allow yourself to be happy?

      Is “happiness” a sort of measuring stick (i.e. when things are good, you are very happy, when things are bad you are not so happy)? Is happy the “default” setting?

      Personally, having so many different conflicting/negative emotions within a 24 hour time frame would not be happiness for me – although I might generally be happy, and that one day of conflicted emotions was just a “bump in the road”, it would still be a bad day. But I think it depends on how we define happiness.

      I’m just curious. You’re further along the “way” than I am, so I’d like to hear your opinions on this topic. Although perhaps you’re still processing things?

Comments are closed.