Prayer to the Muse

20120102-092323.jpg

O’ Muse:

May I prove worthy of your inspiration and strength today,

As I write,

Let your song sustain me,

And my passion go with me,

Giving rise to insight and understanding,

Allow my spirit and body to work in harmony,

Let me see beyond myself,

And into the true nature of the stars,

Let my daily life dissolve,

And grant me freedom from distraction and fear,

Guide my every day,

So that I may always find the time to do my real work,

I ask only for the opportunity

Of open doors,

So I might walk through and serve your will,

I let go of tomorrow and her seductive whispers,

I think not of the fruits of my labor,

But of the labor alone as my reward,

Let my mind drop away so my true awareness flows through,

Help me let go of outcomes and focus on now,

Above all let me perceive purpose in pain and adversity,

And see the will of the spirits at work,

Rather than the illusion of divine malevolence,

So that I might create something worthy of your favor,

And give meaning to my sacrifice.

20120102-092233.jpg

2 thoughts on “Prayer to the Muse”

  1. Love this, Drew! I think I’ll print it out, fold it up and slide it underneath a little Buddha on my desk where I sometimes light a candle before I start to work. Thank you.

Comments are closed.