I tell you that “I’m fine.” The reality…

is that I’m not. I think Paul Lawrence Dunbar said it best

We Wear the Mask

WE wear the mask that grins and lies,
It hides our cheeks and shades our eyes,—
This debt we pay to human guile;
With torn and bleeding hearts we smile,
And mouth with myriad subtleties.

Why should the world be over-wise,
In counting all our tears and sighs?
Nay, let them only see us, while
We wear the mask.

We smile, but, O great Christ, our cries
To thee from tortured souls arise.
We sing, but oh the clay is vile
Beneath our feet, and long the mile;
But let the world dream otherwise,
We wear the mask!

Today, I ache, from the crown of my head to the soles of my feet. I’ve spent the morning worshipping the porcelain goddess.

I have spent the better part of the morning, mourning for the Drew of yesteryear. Jeepers, for a man who very rarely if ever cried, that is all I seem to do. As if tears can heal. Yeah, I know tears can be very cathartic. At least that’s what I read.

You know of late, I’ve been thinking of an old television show, Logan’s Run. To shuck it to the cob, at age 30 I believe, you were killed. Or something like that. I can’t really recall.

I want it over. Yet, I want to “beat” this. I want to show how strong human determination and will are. But the energy it takes, is exhausting.

I believe that science holds the key. I believe that my faith also holds the key. Faith and science, very strange bedfellows. 😒 The physicians all say that by taking this pill and that capsule, getting this shot and that shot, they say I’ll live a long life. bollocks Having to put synthetic drugs into my “temple” every six hours…isn’t NORMAL. Having to have weekly blood tests just to make sure these meds haven’t become TOXIC….that isn’t normal.

Wowzers, of course, I want to scream, “Why me?” As if I would wish this agony on anyone else. I’ve looked back over the 46 years…..more like 26 and examined my actions to see if I “deserve” this. And if course, I see a near perfect and just life. I admit to some faults and flaws – a few missteps, but nothing to deserve …..this. But all in all I see a life lived as authentically as possible. I see a person who opened his home, heart and wallet to anyone in need. What does that mean now? Absolutely nothing it doesn’t mean a bloody thing.

Well, I’m done for today. Going to make every effort to escape this room. But honestly, that ain’t gonna happen.

Despite the pain and misery, I am of peace.

Ciao ciao!