as promised – a story of sorts

A few days ago, I posted a picture of a Rosary. (somewhere, I can’t recall where but here it is, just in case,

20131211-152824.jpg As I started to make more and more of them for my Catholic friends, I began to study the science (there is a science behind everything) and the symbolism of the Rosary. I am not going to bore you with my interpretation of the available data. That isn’t my place. What I will share is my realisation that the items that make the Rosary have only the “power” given to them by man. I also thought what it all boils down to is, in my opinion, a way to focus thought.

Well, I’ve needed a wee bit of help focusing of late, but my …non-subscription to mainstream religions, forbade my using a cross (crucifix). So what’s a bloke to do?

“Use a token, a symbol with which you identify,”

that’s what the little voice said.

So, I gathered together my focus stones.
A little Tigers Eye: Tigers eye is often used in feng shui jewellery for its protective properties. Tigers eye can also help clear confusion and attract a more clear and balanced state of mind.

My birthstone – Amethyst – The deep purple colour of the amethyst resonates with the higher chakras, or energy centres of the human body – the third eye and the crown chakras. This is why amethyst is used for mediation, as well as to open the blocks to the flow of higher knowledge.

I threw in a ruby or five to overcome exhaustion and lethargy. Rubies are said to stimulate circulation and amplify energy and vitality to the whole system. I’m going to gloss over the aphrodisiac attributes of rubies.Ruby’s intense energy sharpens the mind, bringing a heightened awareness and excellent concentration. It promotes a courageous attitude, and may increase one’s success in controversies and disputes. The ruby is also said to help reduce fear of the paranormal and evil. It banishes nightmares and guards against psychic and psychological attack. It is a shielding crystal, protecting the home from fire and intruders, and is good to wear discreetly to stay safe at night.

and last but not least, some black onyx to provide a supportive, strong and stable energy. It can help one persevere and keep the mind clear and calm. Black onyx can also help one stay focused on real priorities, as well as trust their inner voice.

strung these stones together whilst reciting the Litany against fear….so this is what I came up with and ….

20131211-161307.jpg

The WORDS are not mine. They’re taken from on of my favourite films, DUNE. I’ve always loved the Bene Gesserit. I’ve found some measure of comfort from these WORDS, by using this ritual, focusing on stones.

